share article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Universities recognised for excellence in cyber security


De Montfort University and Northumbria University are the latest two UK universities to be added to the growing list of Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACEs-CSR), further enhancing the UK’s leading position in cyber security research.

The two new centres have been recognised by the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) as having first rate research capabilities. They join a list of 17 other institutions across the whole of the UK that are regarded as strategic partners to Government, and are producing cutting edge research in cyber security.

“I’m delighted to welcome Northumbria and De Montfort Universities to the ACE-CSR community. We have seen the community grow from eight universities to 19 and that has been down to the hard work and investment they have all put in. Both are existing members of our Research Institutes and it is brilliant to see how they have built on and developed their broader capacity and capability over several years, to now meet the standards required of an Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Research,” said Chris Ensor, NCSC Deputy Director for Cyber Growth.

The universities’ strengths include improving approaches to help people better understand how to protect themselves online, and developing new technologies to protect critical infrastructure like telecommunications.

“The UK has some of the best minds in the cyber security field and it’s only right that we recognise those universities that can excel when it comes to carrying out world leading research. The global threat of cyber security is never far from our minds we want to ensure that our best and brightest can help shape our national cyber security strategy,” said UK’s Digital Minister Margot James.

The ACE-CSR programme is part of delivering by Government’s £1.9 billion National Cyber Security Strategy (NCSS) 2016-2021. Other institutions recognised as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research include: University of Birmingham, University of Bristol, University of Cambridge, Cardiff University, University of Edinburgh, University of Kent, Imperial College London, King’s College London, Lancaster University, Newcastle University, University of Oxford, Queen’s University Belfast, Royal Holloway, University of London, University of Southampton, University of Surrey, University of Warwick, University College London.

The universities will be recognised as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research until June 2022.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related Posts

View Latest Magazine

Subscribe today

Member Login